English

Vologda regional
public organization
Batyushkov Society

«What joy is in a foreign land? It's in the native lands»

About K.N. Batyushkov

Konstantin Nikolayevich Batyushkov – a poet, novelist, literary and art critic, translator, member of the literary circle “Arzamas”, honorary member of the “Free society of lovers of the Russian literature”. 

K.N. Batyushkov was born in Vologda on the 18th (29th) of May in 1787 in an old noble family.

Until May, 1792 – lived in Vologda.

The beginning of summer, 1792 – May, 1794 – was at the new place of service of his father in Vyatka.

June, 1794 – moving with his family to St. Petersburg.

1797-1801 – studied at a private boarding school of a Frenchman O.P. Zhakino.

1801-1802 – studied at the boarding school of an Italian man, I. A. Tripoly. Graduated in 1802.

1801 – the first literary experience – translation into French “The words of Metropolitan Platon on the occasion of coronation of Alexander the First”. The translation was issued in the autumn of 1801 in a separate brochure by P.A. Sokolov, poshekhonskiy landowner.

1802 – determined to serve in a newly organized Ministry of national education “at written work”.

1803 – received the 1st “service” rank of a collegiate registrator. Became friends with the members of the “Free society of lovers of literature, sciences and art”: I. P. Pnin, I.I. Martynov, D. I. Yazukov, N.A. Radischev. Got acquainted with G.R. Derzhavin, V.V. Kapnist, P.A. Nilov and A.P. Kvashnina-Samarina.

1804 – employed as a “Secretary to the Trustee of Moscow school district Secret Advisor Myravyov” after being discharged from the office of the Minister of national education, count P.V. Zavadskiy.

January, 1805 – debut in the press: “Message to my poetry” was printed in the journal “News of the Russian Literature”. 6 poems were published.

22 February, 1807 – appointed the head of St. Petersburg militia battalion and sent to the military campaign in Prussia against Napoleon. On the 29th of May Batyushkov was wounded in the battle at Heilsberg. June-July – treated in Riga.  August-September – a trip to Danilovskoye; the conflict with his father because of re-marriage; moving along with his sisters Alexandra and Varvara to the village Hantanovo situated in Cherepovets district, Novgorod province.

1808 – engaged in division of his late mother’s estate. On the 20th of May Batyushkov was awarded the order of St. Anna of the 3rd degree for bravery in the battle at Heilsberg. The end of September – returning to an active duty, involved in the military campaign to Finland. 4 poems were published.

1809 – got the rank of Lieutenant, but resigned. June – arrived in St. Petersburg. July-mid-December – lived in Hantanovo. On the 25th of December Batyushkov went to Moscow. 7 poems were published.

January-end of May, 1810 – lived in Moscow where he got acquainted with V.A. Zhukovskiy, P.A. Vyazemskiy, N.M. Karamzin, V.L. Pushkin and S.L. Pushkin, M.T. Kachenovskiy, S.N. Glinka and others. July-December – spent in Hantanovo. More than 20 poems and a “pile of prose” were written during the year. On the 25th of December he went to Vologda.

Early February, 1811 – arrived in Moscow and lived until July. From the 14th of July until the end of the year Batyushkov lived in Hantanovo: he read and translated Italian poets, was engaged in household duties. Created the message “My land”, several minor poems and the essay “A walk around Moscow”. 4 poems were published.

January-August, 1812 – lived in St. Petersburg. On the 8th of February was accepted into the “Free society”. On the 22nd of April he entered the service in the Public library as an assistant keeper of manuscripts. On the 18th of December Batyushkov was dismissed from the Public library because of receipt on military service. 12 poems were written. The poem “Fellowship” was published.

24 July, 1813 – went to the army. On the 15th of August he participated in the battle neat Teplitsa (Germany); on the 4th-6th of October in the “Battle of Nations” in Leipzig, in which General N.N. Rayevskiy was wounded, and a close friend of Batyushkov, I. Petin, died. The message “To Dashkov” was published.

1814 – awarded the order of St. Anna of the 2nd degree for the battle of Leipzig. On the 19th of March in the retinue of Alexander the First Batyushkov entered Paris. Not later than the 10th of July arrived in St. Petersburg. “Elegy from Tibull”, “The Prisoner”, “On the ruins of a castle in Sweden” and in prose: “The letter to I.M. M(uravyov) – A(postol)” and “A walk to the Academy of Arts” were published.

14 October, 1815 – elected a member of the Society “Arzamas”. On the 4th of November made a request for resignation. 15 poems and 8 prose works were written: “A wander and a homelover” “A message to I.M.M(uravyov) – A(postol)”.

26 February, 1816 – together with Zhukovskiy was admitted into the “Society of lovers of Russian literature at Moscow University”. On the 26th of May at the meeting of the “Society…” he presented a “Speech about the influence of unserious verse on language”. At the end of December he arrived to Hantanovo. 8 poems and prose “A Night at Cantemir” were written. Prepared the 1st volume of “Experiments…” for printing.

1817 – until the end of July lived in Hantanovo. Prepared the 2nd volume of “Experiments...”. In early September “Experiments in poetry and prose” were published.

9 January, 1818 – returned to St. Petersburg. The trouble about entering the diplomatic service. The 16th of July – the decree of Alexander the First awarded to Batyushkov the rank of a court counsellor and attributed him to the Neapolitan mission. The 19th of November – departure to Italy. Seeing off in Tsarskoye Selo, which was attended by Zhykovskiy, A.S. Pushkin, N. I. Gnedich, A.I. Turgenev, E. S. Uvarov and P.L. Shilling. 17 poems were written in a year.

1819 – Batyushkov in Italy. The poems “You’re awake, oh Baya, from the tomb” and “There is pleasure in the wilderness of forests” were written.

1820 – reinforcement of depression. Submitted a request for vacation to the Waters of Germany and got rejected.

26 April, 1821 – got vacation for treatment. The 18th of September – resignation from service. The 12th of December – the 2nd resignation.

1822 – about the 17th of May Batyushkov left for the Caucasian mineral waters.

January – the beginning of April, 1823 – in Simferopol signs of mental disorder were increasing. On the 4th of April Batyushkov was sent to St. Petersburg.

January – mid May, 1824 – lived in St. Petersburg under the control of relatives and friends. On the 10th of May Zhukovskiy took Batyushkov to Derpt; from where he was sent to Sonnenstein and admitted into the hospital.

1824-1828 – A.I. Turgenev and N. I. Turgenev, D.V. Dashkov, V. A. Zhukovskiy, V.V. Hanykov visited Batyushkov in the hospital. The disease of Batyushkov on the medical consultation of German doctors was declared incurable.

4 August, 1828 – Batyushkov was brought to Moscow for the supervision of Dr. A. Dietrich. E.F. Muravyov, P.A. Vyazemskiy, V.F. Vyazemskaya, D.V. Dashkov, M.P. Pogodin visited him.

1833 – Batyushkov was brought from Moscow to Vologda and placed into the family of his nephew G.A. Grevents.  On the 9th of December – the order of Nikolay the First to dismiss Batyushkov from service.

1833-1855 – Batyushkov lived with relatives in Vologda. A.V. Nikitenko, P. N. Batyushkov, M.P. Pogodin, S.P. Shevyrev, N. V. Berg visited him. In 1834 “Works in prose and verse” were published.

7 (19) of July (17 p.m), 1855 – Batyushkov died of typhoid fever. On the 10th (20th) of July – buried in Spaso-Prilutskiy Monastery near Vologda.

                                                    The Batyushkovs' family coat of arms

 

Error : An internal server error occurred. | VRPO «Batyushkov Society»
English

Vologda regional
public organization
Batyushkov Society

«What joy is in a foreign land? It's in the native lands»

Error : An internal server error occurred.

The above error occurred while the Web server was processing your request.

Please, contact us if you think this is a server error. Thank you.

Русский

О К. Н. Батюшкове

Константин Николаевич Батюшков – поэт, прозаик, литературный и художественный критик, переводчик, член литературного кружка "Арзамас", почетный член "Вольного общества любителей российской словесности".

К.Н. Батюшков родился в Вологде 18 (29) мая 1787 года в старинной дворянской семье.

По май 1792. Проживал в Вологде.

Начало лета 1792- май 1794. Находился по новому месту службы отца в Вятке. 

Июнь 1794. Переезд с семьей в Петербург.

1797-1801. Учился в петербургском частном пансионе француза О.П. Жакино.

1801-1802. Пребывание в пансионе итальянца И.А. Триполи. Закончил в 1802 году.

1801. Первый литературный опыт - перевод на французский язык «Слова митрополита Платона по случаю коронации Александра I». Перевод был выпущен отдельной брошюрой П.А. Соколовым, пошехонским помещиком, осенью этого года.

1802. Определён на службу во вновь организованное министерство народного просвещения "при письменных делах".

1803. Получил первый "табельный" чин коллежского регистратора. Сблизился с членами "Вольного общества любителей словесности, наук и художеств": И.П. Пниным, И.И Мартыновым, Д.И. Языковым, Н.А. Радищевым. Состоялось знакомство с Г.Р. Державиным, В.В. Капнистом, П.А. Ниловым, А.П. Квашниной-Самариной.

1804. Принят на службу "секретарём при попечителе Московского учебного округа тайном советнике Муравьёве" после увольнения из канцелярии министра народного просвещения графа П.В. Завадского.

1805. Январь - первое выступление в печати: в ж. "Новости русской литературы" напечатано "Послание к стихам моим". За год напечатано 6 стихотворений.

1807. 22 февраля назначается сотенным начальником Петербургского милиционного батальона и отправляется в военный поход в Пруссию против Наполеона. 29 мая ранен в сражении при Гейльсберге. Июнь-июль - лечится в Риге. Август-сентябрь - поездка в Даниловское, конфликт с отцом из-за его вторичной женитьбы, переезд вместе с сёстрами Александрой и Варварой в родовое имение матери - село Хантаново Череповецкого уезда Новгородской губернии.

1808. Занимается делами по разделу имения покойной матери. 20 мая награждён орденом св. Анны 3 степени за храбрость в сражении при Гейльсберге. Конец сентября - возвращение на действительную службу. Участвует в военном походе в Финляндию. Опубликованы 4 стихотворения.

1809. Получает чин подпоручика, но подаёт в отставку. Июнь - приезжает в Петербург. Июль-середина декабря - живёт в Хантанове. 25 декабря уезжает в Москву. Опубликовано 7 стихотворений.

1810. Январь-конец мая - живёт в Москве, где знакомится с В.А. Жуковским, П.А. Вяземским, Н.М. Карамзиным, В.Л. и С.Л. Пушкиными, М.Т. Каченовским, С.Н. Глинкой и др. Июль-декабрь - проводит в Хантанове. За год написано более 20 стихотворений и "груда прозы". Опубликовано 16 стихотворений и 5 прозаических опытов. 25 декабря уезжает в Вологду.

1811. В начале февраля приезжает в Москву и живёт до июля. С 14 июля и до конца года находится в Хантанове: читает, переводит итальянских поэтов, занимается хозяйственными делами. Создаёт послание "Мои пенаты", несколько мелких стихотворений, очерк "Прогулка по Москве". Опубликовано 4 стихотворения.

1812. Январь-август - живёт в Петербурге. 8 февраля был принят в "Вольное общество". 22 апреля поступил на службу в Публичную библиотеку в должности помощника хранителя манускриптов. 18 декабря уволен из Публичной библиотеки в связи с поступлением на военную службу. Написано 12 стихотворений. Опубликовано стихотворение "Дружество".

1813. 24 июля Батюшков отправился в действующую армию. 15 августа участвовал в бою близ Теплица (Германия), 4-6 октября - в Лейпцигской "битве народов", в которой был ранен генерал Н.Н. Раевский, погиб ближайший друг поэта - И. Петин. Опубликовано послание "К Дашкову".

1814. Награждён орденом св. Анны 2 степени за сражение под Лейпцигом. 19 марта в свите Александра I Батюшков вступает в Париж. Не позднее 10 июля прибыл в Петербург. Опубликованы стихи: "Элегия из Тибулла", "Пленный", "На развалинах замка в Швеции" и в прозе: "Письмо к И.М.М(уравьёву) - А(постолу)", "Прогулка в Академию Художеств".

1815. 14 октября избран в члены общества "Арзамас". 4 ноября подал просьбу об отставке. Написано 15 стихотворений и 8 прозаических произведений. Опубликованы "Странствователь и Домосед", "Послание к И.М.М(уравьёву) - А(постолу)".

1816. 26 февраля вместе с Жуковским принят в "Общество любителей российской словесности при Московском университете". 26 мая на заседании "Общества…" им была прочитана "Речь о влиянии лёгкой поэзии на язык". В конце декабря приехал в Хантаново. Написано 8 стихотворений и в прозе "Вечер у Кантемира". Подготовил к печати первый том "Опытов…".

1817. До конца июля живёт в Хантанове. Готовит второй том "Опытов…". В начале сентября вышли в свет "Опыты в стихах и прозе".

1818. 9 января возвращается в Петербург. Хлопоты о поступлении в дипломатическую службу. 16 июля - указ Александра I о пожаловании Батюшкову чина надворного советника и причислении его к неаполитанской миссии. 19 ноября - отъезд в Италию. Проводы в Царском селе, где присутствовали Жуковский, А.С. Пушкин, Н.И. Гнедич, А.И. Тургенев, Е.С. Уварова, П.Л. Шиллинг. За год написано 17 стихотворений.

1819. Батюшков в Италии. Написаны стихотворения: "Ты пробуждаешься, о Байя, из гробницы…", "Есть наслаждение и в дикости лесов…".

1820. Нарастание депрессии. Подаёт просьбу об отпуске на воды в Германию и получает отказ.

1821. 26 апреля получает отпуск для лечения. 18 сентября - прошение об увольнении со службы. 12 декабря - второе прошение об отставке.

1822. Около 17 мая Батюшков уезжает на Кавказские минеральные воды.

1823. Январь-начало апреля - в Симферополе у Батюшкова усиливаются признаки душевного расстройства. 4 апреля - отправлен в Петербург.

1824. Январь-середина мая - живёт в Петербурге под наблюдением родственников и друзей. 10 мая Жуковский увёз Батюшкова в Дерпт, откуда он был отправлен в Зонненштейн и помещён в лечебницу.

1824-1828. В лечебнице Батюшкова посещают А.И. и Н.И. Тургеневы, Д.В. Дашков, В.А. Жуковский, В.В. Ханыков. Болезнь Батюшкова на консилиуме немецких врачей объявлена неизлечимой.

1828. 4 августа Батюшков привезён в Москву под наблюдение доктора А. Дитриха. Его навещают Е.Ф. Муравьёва, П.А. и В.Ф. Вяземские, Д.В. Дашков, М.П. Погодин.

1833. Батюшков перевезён из Москвы в Вологду и помещён в семье своего племянника Г.А. Гревенца. 9 декабря - распоряжение Николая I уволить числящегося в отпуске Батюшкова со службы.

1833-1855. Батюшков живёт у родственников в Вологде. Его посетили А.В. Никитенко, П.Н. Батюшков, М.П. Погодин, С.П. Шевырёв, Н.В. Берг. В 1834 году вышли в свет "Сочинения в прозе и стихах" К.Н. Батюшкова.

1855. 7 (19) июля, 17 часов - Батюшков умер от тифозной горячки. 10 (22) июля - похоронен в Спасо-Прилуцком монастыре близ Вологды.

 

                                                    Семейный герб рода Батюшковых

 

Ошибка : Возникла внутренняя ошибка сервера. | ВРОО «Батюшковское Общество»
Русский

Ошибка : Возникла внутренняя ошибка сервера.

Во время выполнения вашего запроса произошла ошибка.

Если вы считаете, что это ошибка сервера — свяжитесь с нами. Спасибо.